Tags

, , ,

I am busy with my 43rd book at present and have some interesting learnings. Firstly, this is the first time I am writing a Sci-Fi novel. Secondly, I am using new writing software that is still under development.

Here’s what I have found:
1. The basics are the same no matter what genre you choose.
2. Readers are to be treated the same, with respect and dignity.
3. Stories can only be told one word at a time, no matter what the setting or format.

As a writer, I still have to approach my work as I did when writing in other genres. I need to remain disciplined and conscientious. I also need to remain true to my craft. But I can experiment. Indeed, the art of creative writing demands it.

So with this in mind, I have challenged myself by writing a Sci-Fi novel. And I am doing so with the aid of Plume-Creator, an open-source writing package that is being developed with the aid of a small but dedicated group of writers around the world.

My book is called Crossing the Line and it is about an Australian skyship called Southern Cross. It takes place in a time when the navy has been transformed into the sky navy. My main character is Braxton Dunbar. He is a young skysailor who finds his moral code tested when he has to chose between remaining loyal to the sky navy, his family and friends or surrendering secrets about his skyship in order to save his best mate. It’s a developing story; I like to let the characters decide on their own destiny by letting the story take it’s own course.

Here’s what chapter one looks like on my computer:

Chapter 1 on Plume-Creator.

Chapter 1 on Plume-Creator.

If you’d like to follow my progress and receive updates, please let me know and I’ll add your email address to my database.

