Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What are your tools of the trade? What do you use for your writing?

This may sound a silly question, but what you use to write with is important. Heard the saying a worker is only as good as the tools he uses? Well, it’s true.

As we enter the last day of Queensland Writers’ Week (well, for me it is as I write on a full time basis five days a week and need my weekends to recharge my creative batteries), I thought a brief discussion about some of the tools of my craft would be appropriate.

I never go anywhere without my trusty Moleskine notebook and Lamy fountain pen. I have found ideas crop up in my mind at the most unexpected moments. I have also found that often I come across a piece of information, the name of a book or something else that could be useful in my writing. It is also most useful and productive to spend half an hour or so in a local coffee shop thinking and making notes.

I never go anywhere without my Moleskine notebook and Lamy fountain pen.

Once I am ready to begin actually writing, I sit down in front of my iMac, fire up Scriviner and begin working on the structure of the book. I love using the cork board for this. I can juggle chapters and sections around at will and can get an instant idea of what the structure of the book will look like.

The Scriviner cork board of my book Classic Motorcycles, An Enthusiast’s Guide (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004TMAIPW)

If I am working on a shorter piece, like an article, then I usually write on my laptop, which runs on the Chakra Linux operating system. I love using Linux as it gives me so much more ‘control’ over my software and is nice and easy to use while still allowing me to program in what I like and discard that which I don’t. Panders to the geek in me, nothing more.

So what tools do you use? Which can you add to your writer’s tool bench?

